





Tetrahedron 63 (2007) 8375

Biographical sketch: Professor Hisashi Yamamoto

Hisashi Yamamoto was born in Kobe, Japan in 1943. He received his Bachelor from Kyoto University under the supervision of Professors H. Nozaki and R. Noyori and Ph. D. from Harvard University under the mentorship of Professor E. J. Corey. His first academic position was as Assistant Professor and lecturer at Kyoto University, and in 1977 he was appointed as an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Hawaii. In 1980 he moved to Nagoya University where he became Professor in 1983. In 2002, he moved to the United States as an Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago.

During his research career over three decades, the research group of Yamamoto has developed a wide range of new reagents and reactions. In particular, his research laid the foundation for modern designer Lewis and Brønsted acid chemistry. His group has invented many methods for carbon-carbon bond formation, for constructing various ring systems, for interconversion of functional groups, for controlling relative and absolute stereochemistry, and for efficient synthesis of natural and unnatural products. His current interests are mainly on the development of new synthetic reactions in the field of acid catalysis including designer Lewis and Brønsted acids, and a combination of these two acid systems targeting more versatile, more selective, and more reactive catalysts, aiming at environmentally benign systems. He has 400+ publications, 100+ reviews, and 50+ patents.



He has been honored to receive the Chemical Society of Japan Award for Young Chemist in 1977, IBM Science Award in 1988, Houkou Award in 1991, Chunichi Press Award in 1992, Prelog Medal in 1993, the Chemical Society of Japan Award in 1995, Toray Science and Technology Award in 1997, the Max-Tishler Prize in 1998, Tetrahedron Chari in 2002, Le Grand Prix de la Fondation Maison de la Chimie in 2002, National Prize of Purple Medal (Japan) in 2002, Molecular Chirality Award in 2003, Yamada Prize in 2004, Tetrahedron Prize in 2006, The Karl–Ziegler Professorship Award in 2006, and The Japan Academy Prize in 2007. He was elected as a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2003.